The game that needs a win-condition

Jimmy
3 min readSep 22, 2019

--

The Game Over: So far, I’ve got a lose-condition and that’s IT. I whipped up a quick game-over music loop since there wasn’t one. I tried to upload it real quick-and-dirty style so hopefully that embed works. If not, I’ll figure something else out (I also uploaded it to Soundcloud). If you lose the three lives I so graciously give you then you must stare upon the crying surfer boy. Look upon him and be SAD. In addition to a creepy track you also have to stare at the red glowing eyes of death until I replace the artwork with animated stuff/polish in general. The continue button is also there just to test the stopping of sound tracks between the rooms.

He so sad

Anyways, it feels good to continue to add to this little game. I finally swapped out the very bad scrolling placeholder-background for a less bad parallax style placeholder-background with a few fun pieces in it. Remember when I said “JIMMY DO THE THING” ? Well I didn’t come back to this quickly enough and completely forgot what I was trying to tell myself. Instead, I looked up a few tutorials and ultimately just used a function in GameMaker to have the backgrounds scroll at varying horizontal speeds. Unfortunately, doing it this way means that you can’t use decimals so all the speeds have to be complete integers meaning that a speed of “-3” is the fastest it can go and -1 to -2 aren’t really good indicators for faking that cool parallax motion. Maybe I’ll implement true parallax scrolling with decimals later but for now it’s just a couple moving parts.

The “sky” and the “sea” scrolling at different speeds

Oh yeah, I also increased the amount of frames for the invincible frames but it still looks like it might be too fast.

Not much has changed but making small music loops and getting rid of atrocious background colors feels good and is definitely progress in the right direction.

Little islands parallaxin’

That’s it for today, I felt bad that I didn’t get anything done for a week. I even got a Medium email that was like “Here’s your week in review for an article from over a week ago.” So if anything that will also help keep me accountable.

pink shades

Small detail: remembered the sunglasses/mirror-shades were magenta/pink-ish so I changed the sprite to that color as well. Staying on model can be hard even if it’s just 2D…

--

--